General Information


Property Tax
The Lancaster County Treasurer's Office collects all current property taxes and acts as banker for the County.

All other property tax bills are mailed at the end of September or the beginning of October unless reassessment year and are due by January 15th without penalty, unless the 15th falls on a weekend or a holiday.

After March 16th, they are turned over to the Delinquent Tax Collector.

Lancaster County does not process delinquent tax bills online unless it is a vehicle bill. If it is anything other than a vehicle, you would need to contact the Delinquent Tax Collectors Office at 803-283-8885

If you have transferred a tag, sold a vehicle that you have received a notice on, or need a bill on a new purchase, you may contact the Auditor's Office at 803-285-7424.

All delinquent vehicle taxes MUST BE PAID BEFORE CURRENT YEAR. This INCLUDES dealer tags.

For online vehicle tax payments, the confirmation receipt that you print after completing your tax payment is only a confirmation of your payment. This printed receipt IS NOT ACCEPTABLE as proof of payment at the DMV office. You should receive the decal 7-10 days after your payment has been processed in our system. The decal will come from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Office (DMV). If you don’t receive it within 7-10 business days, call 1-803-896-5000. If it is late and there are late fees, then you will be notified by the DMV. If you wish to have the decal the same business day, you would need to come in the office.


Look up tax information or pay taxes online

Online or phone payments will be processed the next business day. All processing fees are collected by the provider and do not go to the county. 

You can also process your payment by phone. To process by phone call 1-888-525-3661.



Homestead Information

South Carolina Code of Laws #12-37-250 governs the requirement for the Homestead Exemption Program. You must be 65 years of age and a legal resident a year as of 12/31, the year priorto be eligible for homestead.

Examples: If you move into Lancaster County from New York in June 2009, the first year you are eligible for the homestead exemption will be tax year 2011.

The date on your South Carolina Drivers license is the form we use to determine the date you established residency. The homestead exempts the first $50,000. appraised value of your home. If you live within a municipality you also receive this credit off your city taxes.

If you are disabled, you must provide the form from the state or federal agency that classified you disable. Usually it is social security that we accept. We can not accept a companies disability form. Once you sign up, the application is permanent unless you make changes in your property. Changes include: remarried, death of spouse, move to another property, deed property in full or part to someone else.

Applications are taken from January 2- July 15th of each year, but if you are eligible and haven't filed within this deadline, contact the auditors office at 803-285-7424. The county auditor takes applications a day each January in Kershaw in an office at the Town Hall and a day each February in Indian Land at the Del Webb Library. The dates are posted the first of each year in the local news papers.

News & Updates

Real estate & personal property tax bills are due by January 15th without penalites. If the 15th falls on a weekend or holiday, you will have until 5:00 pm the next business day to pay without penalty. After March 16th,  real estate & personal property taxes will be turned over to the Tax Collectors office.  Motor Vehicle bills are mailed on the 15th of the month, one month prior to bills being due and are due on the last day of the month. The decal will come from the South Carolina DMV Office if you pay by mail, phone, or online within 7-10 business days. If you don’t receive the decal within 7-10 business days, please call DMV @  1-803-896-5000.

You can pay your tax bill in the office, by mail, by phone 1-888-525-3661 or HERE ONLINE.